Skip to content

day four: in which my bank account gets bullied by my credit cards.

September 15, 2011

You win again, CCs.

Good things about today: PAYDAY! Also, I had my first Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks of the season ($4.00.. It was supposed to be $4.14, but I snagged $0.14 from the take-a-penny leave-a-penny. Note to self: bring an extra quarter next time I go). Actually, this latte was the main reason I dared to venture outside.

Motivation in a white cardboard cup. (Photo credit dietsinreview.com)

It was FREEZING, rainy, and gloomy all day today here in Flyover Country. It’s like summer and fall got into a fight, and then, out of the blue, winter hopped in, pancaked summer and fall from the corner of the ring, and proclaimed victory. Seriously. That cold. So it looks like I’m going to have to hustle up some money for some closed-toed shoes sometime. Frostbite is not fashionable.

Bad thing about today: Payday means my bank account immediately gets sucker punched by all the automatic deductions I have set up. So right away $112.00 flew off to my credit card. I got slapped in the face with a late fee two days … a mere two days late … SOOOO CLOSE yet so far. I get it, though. Even if I think credit cards are blood-sucking vampires. Except they suck cash. UGH. (Side note: I googled “cash vampires” to see if there was a picture I could insert and the results were truly terrifying. So thanks, but no thanks.) Another $76.40 whizzed away to my retail credit card that I am thisclose to paying off. Tomorrow my SmartyPig deduction will get taken out.. but this involves more money getting deposited into my online piggy bank (my ongoing infatuation with which I expound upon here) so I am OKAY with that. I have named my SmartyPig account Lloyd. I can’t wait until Lloyd gets fat and happy with monaaaay.

So I’ll be hunkering down for a few days until all of the transactions get there, then will emerge from the bunker and survey the damage to my poor checking account. It hates paydays. It always gets beat up. It’s quite a weakling. DOUBLE UGUGUGH.

On the bright side/cash front, I have $12 left over from tips from serving last weekend. Also, the great state of Flyover Country deposited $19.00 into my account, due to a smidgen of leftover goodness from my student loans. so hopefully that will get me through the weekend. Here’s hoping.

Also, I caved again and got Jimmy John’s for lunch ($7.00 with tip). DAMN YOU #5 VITO WITH DIJON. You are so tasty.

My best friend and worst nightmare.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    September 15, 2011 10:57 pm

    I hear you! When I went into work this morning, I needed to roll my cardi sleeves up. When I left work though, I could’ve probably used a fleece on top of my cardi+blouse combo. Seriously! I love fall and winter needs to step back a bit to let us enjoy some cooler, crisp weather. Zappos.com is my shoe lifesaver. Since I’ve got weirdly small feet, they have been great with providing shoes for my tiny tootsies. Plus you can’t go wrong with free shipping AND free returns. I’m surprised they’ve not revoked my business for all the returning I do. (The joys of shoe shopping online. Well worth the nice kicks I score.) I kind of love that you named your account. Haha. Lloyd actually is a bank name, so it’s quite fitting. It’s not CC’s that are sucking me dry but my student loans. I’ve paid off 4 and just have one last cash vampire (you’re right, the pictures are no bueno.)

    • Abigail permalink
      September 16, 2011 7:18 am

      I’ve looked at Zappos a ton but have to say I’ve never actually bought anything from there! I’ll have to give it a try … Also had zero clue that Lloyd was an actual bank. That’s hilarious. It’s just when I picture a pig wearing spectacles in my head, Lloyd seems like a very fitting name. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

