Skip to content

what pays the bills (most of the time).

September 12, 2011

So. I’m currently working two jobs.

  1. Non-descript Office Job (NOJ): I’ve been working at an office since April, mainly as a Receptionist. While it can be tedious at times, it is nice because it affords me lots of time to work on homework, and I also have had the opportunity to get my 401(k) off the ground! True, there is only about $63 in it right now, but that’s a good start!
    I work 25.08 hours a week here, which is a prettyyyy steaaady income.. For a college student anyway!
  2. Unfortunate Waitressing Job (UWJ): I picked up this second job in June, when I realized if I didn’t, I would be paying off my credit cards until kingdom come. I currently only work weekends because my class schedule is so hectic. The hours are long but I have gained a new appreciation for what it takes to be a server … Seriously. At some point in everyone’s life, they should be a server or bartender, just so they can experience for themselves how frustrating it is when you are tipped $5 on a $80 bill (that’s 6.25%) when you worked yourself to the bone for that table… Okay, done ranting.
    I don’t work every weekend night here (I try to, but sometimes have scheduling conflicts), so I work anywhere from 10-15 hours a week.

Together I’m projecting that these two jobs will bring in about $1500 a month, give or take (hopefully give…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

