Skip to content

hi there.

September 9, 2011

Hello! I’m a 21 year old college student studying international business and management (with an emphasis in human relations) at a large public university smack dab in the middle of flyover country.

The goal of creating this blog is to help me track my personal finances, increase my savings, and work toward paying off my credit cards, while maintaining a positive attitude and a smile :). Hopefully, it’ll be interesting for you as well as helpful for me!

Without further ado, here are my SUPER AWESOME personal finance goals!

  1. Pay off my credit cards. I’ll write more about this in a separate post once I figure out the details, but for now I’m guesstimating that I owe $1,400 across two cards. I’m sick and tired of watching interest payments pile up (even though they’re mostly nominal, I can’t help thinking every interest payment is a Jimmy John’s sandwich or two!)
  2. Watch where my money goes. Even though I am working two jobs, I feel like I am still living paycheck to paycheck. While I still want to have an active social life and enjoy my senior year of college, I definitely need to embrace the art of budgeting and get on track insofar as watching where my dollar bills go.
  3. Pump up my savings accounts. I am currently on scholarship (thank goodness!) that covers my tuition, but because of my meandering college path (changed my major twice), I’ll be here an extra semester. Because of that, I’m shooting to save up $7,500 by next August to cover tuition, rent, books, etc…
  4. Create an emergency fund. Emergency fund, “rainy day” savings, whatever you want to call it, I need one. This goes hand in hand with getting better at saving, but I would like to have a fund of at least $1,000 to keep for when the day finally comes when I have to leave college and enter the scary real world.
I think those are the BIG FOUR goals. I’m going to write a post detailing what I owe, how much I make at my jobs, and other such detailed information soon. Until then!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

